Sunday Snapshots: October scenes

Fall Colour
The front yard, with soon-to-be thumb blisters.

Forest
Forests in autumn always look best backlit.

Grackles
Flocks of icterids on the move. We had a few hundred blackbirds and grackles pause in our trees this morning.

Fall Colour
Blisters, still on the trees.

British Soldier Lichen
British Soldier Lichen. Though they "bloom" all year, my anecdotal observation suggests they kick it up in autumn.

Milkweed Fluff
Santa Claus wishes making their way north.

Author: Seabrooke

Author of Peterson Field Guide to Moths. #WriteOnCon Mastermind. Writer of action/thriller SF/F YA. Story junkie. Nature nut. Tea addict. Mother. Finding happiness in the little things. Twitter: @SeabrookeN / @SeabrookeLeckie

10 thoughts on “Sunday Snapshots: October scenes”

  1. Ah, I see your fall color is well along. Mine is really doing much yet, but it will take another two weeks before it is at its peak. I sort of think the August drought will hurt the colors down here, so it’s nice to see some good color up your way!

    Carolyn H.

  2. We had the black birds and grackles stop by our place, too. It was so loud, it sounded like farm machinery! Your trees look beautiful.

  3. Such exquisite captures. I love autumn, it is my favourite season of the year. I’m enjoying hikes here in the mountains around my house and enjoying the explosion of colours before the first snow falls.

  4. Thanks for the comments, everyone! Fall is my favourite season; something about the trees and the crispness to the air, the golden light and the colours of the meadows. Even with the winter on the horizon, I enjoy the autumn.

    Carolyn and Jason – I think our leaf turning was about a week, perhaps a week and a half, ahead of schedule this year. Ordinarily we reach peak colour around our Thanksgiving weekend, and this year at Thanksgiving our leaves were already half off the trees.

Leave a comment